Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Big Bald Head

Safe kayaking Near Montauk?

7 posts in this topic

can anyone suggest a relatively calm place to kayak-fish in the Montauk area? I will be out there for three days over Columbus Day weekend, and while the tides are not optimal at the Point (for surf-fishing), I want to try some yak-fishing.

However, I'm relatively new to this and would like to avoid spots with heavy surf, although I'm comfortable in small stuff (like Manhasset Bay, or the Susky Flats).

I've thinking about Gin Beach and the Harbor, also Accobenac Bay and inlet. can anyone provide some other good spots to paddle and fish in the Montauk-to-Shinnec0ck area?

Niot looking for secret spots, just a place to tool around...and if you see me in a yellow Perception Acadia (with milk-crate on back), please say hello... biggrin.gif

Thanks!!

-- Doug

------------------

-- Big Bald Head

derrett@environcorp.com

fish4errett@aol.com

Rough water has a lot to do with 2 main factors. Wind and swell. So a lot depends upon those variables. I haven't been there enough to go into specifics of give advice.

------------------

baja55@optonline.net

[This message has been edited by JonS (edited 10-04-2002).]

can anyone suggest a relatively calm place to kayak-fish in the Montauk area? I will be out there for three days over Columbus Day weekend, and while the tides are not optimal at the Point (for surf-fishing), I want to try some yak-fishing.

However, I'm relatively new to this and would like to avoid spots with heavy surf, although I'm comfortable in small stuff (like Manhasset Bay, or the Susky Flats).

I've thinking about Gin Beach and the Harbor, also Accobenac Bay and inlet. can anyone provide some other good spots to paddle and fish in the Montauk-to-Shinnec0ck area?

Niot looking for secret spots, just a place to tool around...and if you see me in a yellow Perception Acadia (with milk-crate on back), please say hello... biggrin.gif

Thanks!!

-- Doug