Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cliffblair

Advice Needed About SOT

16 posts in this topic

I am brand new at this kayaking stuff. I bought my first yak about a week ago...a Pungo. A great little boat but I am 72 yrs old, 6ft 3inches, 235 pounds and stiff in the hips. Getting in and out of the Pungo is a bit sloppy and difficult. I have been told an sot would be a lot easier to manage.

My first problem is I live in eastern Mass and sot are not popular enough for dealers to stock so I can not go look or try. You guys use them a lot and could be a big help.

The 2 that seem the best to me from looking on line and studying them seems to be the Ocean Kayak Drifer and the Wildernes Tarpon. I would lean towards the Tarpon but it is 6 inches narrower. Does the extra 4 ft of length make it as stable as the Drifter? Just how wet is the Tarpon? My travels will be all lake and bay, I have no desire to head out sea.

Is there some other Yak I should consier?

I have been reading your posts for several days now and delighted to read about your use of fish finders, I am ready to order my Garmin 240.

Your advice would be apreciated...am I on the right track? Hull weight is not important, I am old but very strong.

Am I on the right track? I mostly spin fish, just starting the fly...Cliff Blair

Welcome cliffHappyWave.gif If you are going to be fishing the back bays and not the surf I would err on the side of speed.some fine choices would be a (Cobra tourer/Necky dolphin/Wilderness Systems Tarpon/Ocean Kayak Scupper pro tankwell.There are at least 7 or 8 other models that would fit the bill also, but those will be the easiest to find and they are all a good compromise between speed and stability.

70 what!!! You rock. P.S the cape is nirvana.also welcome to nether world of fishing.We are all nomadic surf fisherman.

Doug M

CliffB,

72 and embarking on totally new adventures!!

An inspiration to us all to be sure!!

I can only speak on the Cobra Navigator.