Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
pmjasper

Top three trolling lures for yak stripers

14 posts in this topic

Since i just bought my yak, i was wondering what are your three top lures for striper trolling out of the yak. i mean i like umbrella rigs but that seems too cumbersome for a yak. i was thinking more along these lines:

1. swimming plug (bombers)

2. Bunker spoons (weighted w.trolling sinker)

3.Deep Diving Plug (MAnns stretch 25's)

know i know about jigs and weighted lures but the reason i like the plugs is that if i need to stop for something or correct my position i am not worried about snagging bottom while dragging a jig. What is your take on the subject? Do you guys troll stripers from the surf during the fall run? too me it seems like the perfect time to drop a lure behind the yak and paddle down the beachfront but i'm a novice so maybe there is something i am missing. I'm relying on you guys to steer me straight. I am mostly thinking of fishing by Sandy Hook and Raritan Bay areas. Thanks guys.

------------------

<A HREF="mailto:

metzpetit@aol.com

"]

metzpetit@aol.com

</A>

I like to troll plastics. Rarely do you snag since the bottoms mostly sand. If you do snag something you've just found structure and that's good. Also should you snag you paddle over and get it out.

I'm with JonS on this one, plastics are great trolling/fishfinding lures. Just the vast number of colors and styles make them my first choice. Second, they are easier to stow in a smaller area, which translates to being able to carry a greater variety of colors, sizes and styles on a kayak. I love to troll with the plastics on one rod and keep a second ready with a spoon or plug for when I find an area with willing recipients.

Bob