Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BigFisher

Trolling Tactics

8 posts in this topic

Typically, when moving from place to place in my kayak, there's nothing dragging behind me.

I haven't put much effort into trolling, but this year I'm thinking of giving it a try and coverings more of the (New Hampshire) coastline.

Any suggestions?

I'm a newbie to the trolling thingy but I would drag a jig, wild eye or swimmer between spots and had fish this way on each trip I took last year. Hope to get out 10 times as much this year?

D.J.

This is by no means THE way to do it, but it's not a coincidence that my rod holder is mounted betweeen knees. That way I get to see the rod tip.

If I towed a neat Rapala Magnum CD14, it's whoop-whoop-whoop transmitted neatly to rod tip. Any absence of vibration, you gots you some weeds on.

If all you have are the holders behind, don't sell your boat - get an Acetta Pet spoon or small Clark on 30-50# test leader (a loop knot to spoon is a must) and about 12# main line.

Add 1/4 oz egg sinker and you are all set for water 6 ft and more.

I find myself straying away from crankbaits/plugs in favor of single hook jobs. 4/0 Owner offset worm hook and 6 inch grub in white is almost 90% weedproof, and is slammed violently by many interesting critters.

Good luck and let us know how you do.

PS all my best kayak fish came from slow trolling live bait, but by slow I mean 1.5 mph or less. It's crawling, not trawling.