Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FLYRODDER

New Kayak Info

11 posts in this topic

I'm 6'4" tall. I'm looking for a sit inside type kayak for flyfishing. Starting with backbays,harbors and inlets then when I have the confidence I want to take it out on the ocean. I also want to be able to go long distances without drag.

What should be my choices. I know I should try out as many kayaks as possible but I want to at least narrow the numbers down.

Tim and I both have the Old Town Loon 138. This is a nice boat, virtually no drag and plenty of leg and storage room. So far I've been in some pretty hairy conditions and haven't even come close to tipping the boat yet. I'm still pretty new to yakkin' so I dont have allot of experience with other yaks but I love the one I have.

We were out with JimDE and according to the GPS we were doing about 4 to 5 knots at a comfortable paddle. these things really scoot along. You may want to check one out.wink.gif

------------------

-----------------------

Dubs a.k.a., Charlie

dubs@stripersonline.com

I'm 6'4" and I weigh 210lbs and 42years young. The reason for the sit inside kayak is I don't want to have to purchase a wet/dry suit. I want to be able to wear comfortable cloths without getting soaked. I usually start fishing in late FEB when the water is cold and will fish in December also. On a sit on top I'll be constantly getting wet. With the sit on top what do you do in the summer when its warm when you start then all of a sudden the air starts to get cold? Give me the pros and cons on both maybe you'll change my mind. I know the prices for the sit on top is much cheaper than the sit inside and also its easier to get back on a sit on top if I get tossed.