Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dave G

How to Choose the Right Yak?

16 posts in this topic

Hi All,

This is my first post- and I hate to ask another "which yak is best" question. However, I will be starting to demo several different kayaks soon and I'm not sure how to go about it. Other than just getting the "feel" of the yak by paddling around, are there things I should be doing or looking for on a demo ride? I have some recent canoe experience, but this will be my first kayak.

I will be using the boat for spin fishing in the lower Chesapeake Bay area and occasionally in the Outer Banks area of North Carolina. I also fly fish a lot, and will use the boat to get to inaccessible wading areas rather than trying to cast from the boat. I will be in inlets, sounds or estuaries much of the time, but also want something seaworthy enough to go out in the open Bay (where it can get pretty rough).

I am 6' tall, 200 pounds and approaching 59 years old. Although I'm in fair shape for an old guy, kayak weight is a big factor since I need to load and unload it on a roof top carrier by myself. I also want a yak with some "waterproof" storage and a convenient place to mount rod holders and a fish finder. A rear well and the possibility of adding a rudder would be a plus.

Based on what I picked up on other kayak fishing forums, I was focused on an OK Skupper Pro TW, OK Drifter or WS The Ride. All of these seem to be very popular on the West and Gulf Coasts. After reading through this Board, I'm thinking I should add Cobra to the list of possibilities. They seem very light for their load capacity, and the hatch designs look like they might be more waterproof than some others I've seen.

Local information is scarce here. Very few people fish from yaks, and the dealers cater to the general market. Wish I was close enough to go see Barrell! Any and all advice will be appreciated!