Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Tony P

Which kayak to buy?

21 posts in this topic

I'm thinking about purchasing a kayak to fly fish from.Can anybody recomend some manufacturers to look at. Most of my fishing is done on the L.I.sound.I have spoken to a few salesman but am not sure I am being led in the right direction.Thanks

Welcome to the board Tony you've come to the right place, you will get excellent advice here, it's very knowledgable and helpfull group of people and a number of them Flyfish from Yaks. JonS is the fellow to contact, and I'm sure others will chime in also. I'm a newbie with the yak so I'll leave the reccomendations to the others, but Cobra's and Wilderness systems are popular boats with this crowd. One thing about most salesman is they don't fish from yaks, the people here do. Good luck and again welcome to the board.

Frank

Tony, welcome to the forum. This is a terrific sport and you're going to love it. Your average kayak shop is a lousy place to shop for a kayak. Unless the person you're dealing with regularly fishes from a kayak you're getting useless info. I do fish from a kayak alot and I fly fish too. Today we're having a demo day at Raritan Bay. If you could attend it would be invaluable, if you can't do some research here and other places.

A good choice for the Sound would be the WS Ride. You can actually stand on it and site cast. Here's a pic of Joey doing just than.

Ridestanding1.jpg

Wilderness Systems-The Ride, Tarpon

Cobra Kayaks-FishNDive,Tourer

Ocean Kayaks-Drifter,Scrambler XT

Try all of them out and decide for yourself which 1 you like the most. I flyfish from my Drifter and 2 of my friends flyfish from there Scrambler XT and FishNDive.

I would add the ocean kayak scupper pro tw to the list, great fishing yak and very stable, I've only dumped it on purpose in two seasons i have owned it, try before you buy. Welcome to the board. dave

------------------

Dave Collinsupload.gif