Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
squirrel

What kind of artificial bait could I try in surf

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

I'm new to surf fishing and traditionally use cut mullet or cut something I catch...or dead shrimp.  This year I'm going to look, again, for fleas.  I'm also interested in throwing some artificial.  I noticed there is an online store, RM something, listed here.  Can you guys point out a few baits that would be good to try throwing? 

fish bites if you want some whiting.

Fish Bites are also got for Spots,Specks,Flounder & Weakfish

SaltWater Assassins in the 4" size with a jig head. Did well with the Electric Chicken color )

Mirro Lures can be deadly at times

Again if your fishing down south.

Kastmasters in the silver & blue color. ( 3/4-1 oz size )

White bucktails work no matter where you are from, sound like Florida, totally guessing, but maybe doc's pompano jigs.

I fish 'down South' (Florida Panhandle) in the surf with jigs most of the time.

The albino(white on white) is my go-to color when everything else has failed. Everything and anything will hit it.

If you're targeting Pompano and Whiting, most any color of jig will work.

I also have a bucket with many 'hard' and plastics hanging around the rim which I will tie on when the 'heavies' move in.

I have lures that I learned that people 'up here' fish with such as Bluefish Bomb and Roberts Rangers that work really well 'down there'.

I also have an assortment of Mirrolures. I would have to go look at my bucket to really tell you about all the lures that have been used successfully 'down here'.

I do like a bone colored spook. C2

Spro Bucktails tipped with chartreuse 3" Swimming Mullet, kill the fluke up here (Flounder in the south) but from what I remember in Louisiana we did solid on flounder reds and even had a real big black drum on a 3" Gulp Shrimp in Nuclear Chicken......In other words, gulp is the way to go