Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ranger

Where to start?

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

Hey guys, looking to get into plug building...where do I start?

What lathe? Is there a such thing as a cheap lathe (sub 200) with a duplicator? What type of chisels will I need?

Where do I get through wires? Lips?

Cheap and decent airbrush?

I know this is a lot of questions, I'm totally new to this. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Start slow. There are inexpensive lathes, try ebay, PSI, used is fine. Start with rattle cans for paint,no need to run off and buy an airbrush. Simple is good, use the search function here for any and all questions until you get down to specifics. Try google "plug building supplies" you'll be amazed at how much stuff comes up.

I would suggest by starting with these two threads:

http://www.stripersonline.com/t/578726/new-builder-help-thread

http://www.stripersonline.com/t/448907/lure-building-safety-issues

That will provide some background for you. As suggested by others, pick up a few kits and give them a shot. That will give you some idea of what is involved in building a plug and you'll have something that you can fish afterwards. If you still have an interest after putting a few of those together, might be time to jump on in. What tools you need will depend some on what types of plugs you are interesting in building. A duplicator is not needed until you have done this for a while and having something worth making a bunch of copies of. Some would even argue that a dup is not needed at all. Lathe tools (after you pick up a respirator and face shield): a skew and gouge are all I use. 1 inch or 3/4 inch are fine. Paint, you can start with rattle cans (rustoleum worked for me) and pick up an airbrush later, if ever.

Jigman

My suggestion is to SLOW DOWN! ;)