Landlocked Salmon Advice

Rate this topic

From looking at your rental about quabbin I'm assuming you are boating. I'm not an expert with landlocks but I have some experience. I've trolled DB smelt spoons with success. Orange with black dots on overcast days or low light and Purple and Silver during high sun. You can troll with just mono (6lb test) on any light spinning outfit. In March through early April you may find landlocks in the top part of the water column. especially during the morning. Just make sure you have a small barrel swivel on the spinning outfit to deal with line twist. Metal is not the only way to catch Landlocks. You can troll small rapala swimmers and small plastic like 2-3" finesse on a jig head. Your trolling speed will be slow. I normally troll between 1-1.5knots. If you see salmon jumping on open water on smelt or if you have electronics that shows salmon under the boat, don't be afraid to jig.

If you need to go deeper you can invest in a jet diver. Jet Divers or dipsy divers will help control your depth. You'll need a 10-17lb line to take the pull but it's pretty accurate once you set it up. To get accurate I recommend an inexpensive line counter reel.

You can also troll smelt. Keep the smelt alive in a glass jar with a lid. Most of the freshwater bait stores around the quabbin will have smelt rigs for trolling. Troll SLOW.

These are some basics to help you get started. Hope it helps.