Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
RhodyFisher

Epoxy Sealing

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

I am just starting out in plug building, and I have been reading a lot about various sealing methods before priming. I think I am going to seal with Etex, diluted 2:1 with denatured alcohol. What I am wondering is, what is a preferred method of applying the seal? Dipping? or brushing on? Does one method work better than the other?

Sudsy did the definitive tutorial on epoxy sealing, a search should find it, but I use his basic method, which is this....Fully sand and drill the blank, pop it into a toaster oven set at ~ 200 deg. for a few minutes while you mix a batch of etex. The warm plug will make the etex plenty thin to work with. Brush or pour the etex into all the holes and over the surface, set aside for a few to let it soak in, re-hit any dry looking areas (end grain especially) and let sit for a few. Wipe off any excess from surface, eye holes, weight holes, hook holes and I use a coat hanger to clean the thru hole out. Rubber gloves and a steady supply of lint free shop rags makes this much easier. Let the plug cure overnight and it's ready for sanding, primer, paint and top coat.

I think the advantages way outweigh the sticky epoxy mess, I don't need any other nasty chemicals hanging around since I already use etex to topcoat, I can continue working on the plug the next day, the etex firms up the soft wood surface and makes a great base for primer. It does add a slight bit of weight. Plugs come out tough as hell.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed White View Post