Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ArcheryRob

Tail weight advice

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

Again I am new at making through wired striper lures. I made a batch of copies of Atom Striper Swiper lure blanks today. They worked out and are pictured below. They float butt under water and mouth just above water and weighted with a 1" long 5/16" tail weight. The problem is I need advice with is how do you all insert these? I drilled a wooded mold and cast the tail weights. Drilled 5/16" and drilled the plug with 5/16". I had to push them in with the wood working vice. I put the 6" plug in there and the weight partially in and then tightened the vice to push them in. I like the tight fit, but .. I am going to have a problem with longer lures and I like the guy that made the winter Pencil Project with the tail weights slide all the way down in the middle. I am not going to be able to push these that far.

Are you drilling with different bits for the hole or mold? Pushing them in some other way?

[img=

This one is the bottom where it drill bit makes it rounded, it's not that far off center.

http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r175/archeryrob/Lures/StriperSwiper2.jpg]

try going up one size in drill bits for the tail weight hole. Use a piece of scrap wood and drill couple different size holes to find out a better fit. Use epoxy to secure the tail weight in place if you think its to loose.

Scott

For a 5/16 diameter lead slug, try an 8 mm drill bit for the plug. The 8 mm is just a hair bigger than 5/16. You'll get a tight fit, but easy enough to push the lead in with your hands and not risk splitting the tail of the plug.

Jigman

Ok, a few more questions while I got you all.

1/4" weight - 17/64" drill?