Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
edkozek

Shimano Baitrunner 6000D for pier/jetty?

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

Hi all, First time post here. A friend recently gave me a Baitrunner 6000D. I do mainly pier and jetty fishing on south shore of Long Island (Long Beach area). This reel feels like overkill for this area, but I'm fairly new to fishing in this area and am looking for advice. I expect I'll be casting for lots of stripers and blues later this year.

Also, would love some input on what kind of rod to match to this reel for this kind of fishing.

Thanks very much for any feedback.

For pier and jetty work that is a nice reel for slinging chunks. It has a free spool feature so a fish can run with the bait and not feel the weight of the sinker. I'd look at mounting it on a 10 foot rod or better. Whatever your comfortable with. I tend to like longer rods for bait fishing at least an 11. It's not the kind of reel that you can toss lures with all day. It's a bit heavy for that but for a bait outfit it's really a great reel that should last you some time.

... for this kind of fishing.

What kind of fishing? For some people jetty fishing means casting plugs, for others bait....biiiiig difference.

What will you be casting and what weight ranges will you be casting? - that's what should guide your choice of rods, not the reel you're going to use.

Assuming you're bait fishing, the baitrunner is an appropriate reel. What line you plan on using determines whether to 6000 is overkill or not.

:th:

Eebs loves to answer questions with questions, and he's right, but generally, you're starting off with a great all-around reel. Are you fishing bait, or throwing plugs? That will make a pretty big difference in rod choice. Don't go spending a ton on a lamiglas until you  know better how you like to fish. Try out other people equimpent if they let you, read up, get some experience.