Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
NewTyer1

Wanted Saltwater flies

Rate this topic

28 posts in this topic

I am new to Saltwater fly fishing and need to buy some flies. That being said, I would prefer to buy from forum members rather than a store. I will mostly be fishing for Blues and Stripers around New England, mostly Massachusetts and Rhode Island and Virginia Beach area of Virginia. So if you are interested, please let me know.

I will be fishing with an 11' 7/8 wt rod using 7wt sink tip line. Any suggestions on tippet strength and length would also be helpful. I will be heading to MA,RI next week so I won't be able to purchase until I get back by the 15 of March but, will make do with some Clousers I purchased from a friend who tied them up for me.

Thanks in advance.

Scott

Welcome new tyer! I'd be happy to donate a few flies to your cause, but don't think you have PM privledges yet so don't know how you'd get me your address. Maybe email Tim S (the site's owner) & ask him to forward your info to me?

Newtyer, I can donate some flies as well bud, I'll shoot you an email. The whole website is for new guys, everyone is super accommodating, helpful, and knowledgable. Hope you enjoy it, i know I'm addicted haha.

Any suggestions on tippet strength and length would also be helpful.

For stripers, you could do very well with a 7-foot length of straight mono, 20, 25, or 30#. Of course, you'll want something more substantial for blues, like 60# or wire.

Steve

Newtyer.