Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lxpaul6

St croix Mojo 2-6 rating

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

I am definitely going to be buying a rod this spring and i cant decide if i want the mojo rated 1-4 ounces or the 2-6 ounce one. How accurate are the ratings on the 2-6? This rod would be for plugging and the smallest i would throw with it is a SS darter and the most i would throw is a 3.5 oz pencil. Now my question is, with throwing plugs in this range, what rod would be better suited for me? Would i be risking overloading the rod too much with a 3.5 oz pencil if i got the 1-4? Would a ss darter and similar plugs be too light for the 2-6? Thanks for looking and i appreciate any feedback. Would love to hear from some of the guys who fish the 2-6 and how they feel it performs on the lighter end of the spectrum, i.e 2-2.75 oz plugs. Thanks in advance -- Paul

I am a newbie but have the 2-6 mojo. It throws great up to 5 oz (the most I have thrown). 2 3/8 all day long. I hear the 1-4 is quite stiff. I would also consider the 3/4-4 if you are going to throw lighter than 2 oz.

GY

I owned and fished both the 10'6" models of the Mojo last year, I sold the 2-6 ounce model after using it on 2 outings. The 3/4 -- 4 oz stick performed way better for me. I felt the 2-6 oz was bulky and heavy, and didn't really need a rod rated to 6 oz when the larger I was throwing was 3 oz pencils and needles, and boy did the 3/4-4oz mojo absolutely launch those plugs. I'm sure it would be able to handle 3.5 ounce pencils as well. If all you are going to be throwing with this rod is super strikes and similar plugs in the 1.5-3 oz range then the 10'6" 3/4-4 is what you want. Again, I'm sure it could handle a 3.5 oz pencil just fine, since I was rocketing 3 ouncers off the beach with it.