Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dreamcatcher

Spinning reels feedback

Rate this topic

6 posts in this topic

Hi All

This is my first post. My family and I have been cruising the southern Indian Ocean for the last 4 years, fishing Mozambique, Madagascar and Bass da India. I would like to share some of our spinning tackle findings with you. We have Shimano (Stella sw20000,Symetre2500 and Saragosa18000), Daiwa (Capricorn4500j, BG’s and Exceler4000) and Okuma Salina65.

All reels are loaded with braid from 10 to 105 pounds, mostly Powerpro. Firstly the Stella and Saragosa have proved to be great although the Gosa is miles behind the Stella. We favour the Stella for really big fish and therefore have not tested the Gosa to the fullest. The little Symetre is an awesome little reel with no problems whatsoever. The Capricorn has developed a noisy line roller and has yet to prove itself. The Exceler has been fished hard and sometimes been abused by guests, it has finally given in to corrosion and gear trouble. The BG’s come with a bullet proof reputation although we have found them to be totally inadequate for the type of fishing we do, the gear train, and lack of waterproofing is simply not up to the task. The biggest surprise has been the Okuma, at about the same cost of the BG’s, it has caught many sizable Kingfish(GTs), Couta(your Kingfish) and Dorado. It lasted for two years it is still usable although it has developed some gear rumble.

I have just ordered some Biomaster 8000hg,s and seriously considering more Stellas.

Thank you for your feedback, always nice to read.

Are you also considering the new Okuma raw 2, with your good experience of the Salina in mind?

I'm not sure about the raw 2 yet, it costs about the same as a Saragosa here so..

Thanks for the reply.