Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tmirrione63

ocean

Rate this topic

24 posts in this topic

Hey guys im a young guy and im not gonna be able to be an owner of a boat for a few years and i was just wondering how big of a boat do you need to be on the ocean.

I personally don't feel comfortable in anything smaller than 22' on good weather days. You really need to be on top of the forecast and it depends somewhat on the inlet(s) you will be going in and out of.

Jet ski's and Kayaks go out in the ocean, but then again so did the Titanic. Most days though I'd say the minimum would be a 20 footer. It all depends where you are going to go and what you want to fish for. Most people start with a 20 or 22, then go up.

I'm new to boating myself and have a 24 footer. I've taken her out to the local recks in the ocean but not too far (3-5 miles). I think a "good boat size" for the ocean really depends on the weather and the experiance of the captain. If you don't know how to handle your boat, no matter what the size you're probably going to be SOL. Weather is probably #1 consideration going out on any size boat and then the captain would be #2. If you're talking about a fair weather days, you can probably even take a dingy out to the ocean (Not recommended!). Just pray that other boats don't speed past next to you and swamp you or throw you. I heard of people taking out their small aluminum boats "in the days" out to the ocean for cod but I'm sure they made sure the weather was perfect, knew what they were doing, and took some chances. Sorry I couln't really answer your question but I believe my 24 footer is very sea worthy. Just need more experience to feel comforatble to take her out further.

where are you and what do you plan on fishing for. A 25' boat is a big boat. ESPECIALLY for a beginner. Either way I suggest you and your father taking a CG auxiliary or power squadron class. google is your friend ;)