Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
squidder 329

Looking for Direction Help

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

I have an event to attend in East Hampton this weekend leaving from just outside of Phila saturday about 7am and returning sunday afternoon about 3p. Looking for some local knowledge to avoid traffic. PM's are fine> Thanks in advance.

Are you talking about from when you get to NYC to E. Hampton? Because there's really only one wway to get there when you hit long island, Montauk highway

Trying to avoid NY city, was going to rely on my Garmin. Not sure which bridges to take and so on, not at all firmilar with the area. I'll be heading up the NJ turnpike and trying to avoid congestion.

Yeah, once you are on the LIE, take it to exit 70 and head south on CR 111 until you get to the end, then head east on Rt. 27. That will take you to East Hampton.

Getting from PA. to the LIE is another story that I have no knowledge of.

Trying to avoid NY city, was going to rely on my Garmin. Not sure which bridges to take and so on, not at all firmilar with the area. I'll be heading up the NJ turnpike and trying to avoid congestion.

The GWB route might be best.

There's no way to avoid going through NYC to get to LI from NJ. You have to take one of the bridges from Staten Island, the Bronx or one of the tunnels/bridges across Manhattan. All of which are part of NYC.

Usually, coming from the South, I take the Outer Bridge to Staten Island, then the VZ to the Belt and take that East to the Southern State on out. If you have a truck that you can't take the parkways with, you'll have to do the GW/Throgs Neck, or I-495 across Manhattan. My friend drives a crane truck to deliver flag poles from LI to lots of places South of here. He always takes the 495 right through Manhattan and swears it's the shortest and fastest route, early in the AM when he leaves (2 or 3 AM)