Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Keith Benning

Reel for a newb, narrowed down to 3 choices

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

I have been researching all the previous threads for days and have narrowed the list of reels down to three. I know for a lot of guys it is all personal preference, but I want to get a reel that won't be a constant birds nest for the first 100 casts because it's too fast for me, but at the same time I can grow into as I get more proficient. I will be pitching 4oz lead and 1 to 2oz of bait. I am relatively new to conventionals and this will be my first one on a surf rod. The rod is a St.Croix 11.6 MH with a 2 to 6oz bait rating. I want to buy a new off the shelf one, and the reel choices are as follows:

Penn 525 MAG

Avet SX 5.3 MC

ABU 7000i C3 CT MAG HS

The fishing will be mostly Florida beach and jetties. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Three great choices. The Penn 525 was replaced by the Squall a couple years ago but you may find one. At 18oz its in the middle of the 3, but has the faster gear ratio at 6:1. The mag control works very well, and its easy to work on. I cant speak on the lightweight Avet, but know its the most expensive, and was too fast before the mc models came out. For bait fishing its a non issue, but the14 oz Avet on a 11'6" could be a tip heavy combo for plugging. The Abu is a workhorse, easy to take apart, the heaviest of the three,in the middle price wise, and very cast friendly. A left over Penn, made in the USA (if possible), would be the least expensive. They are proven, long lasting, powerful reels with great anti- reverses. I keep reading the 525 clicker (line out alarm) isnt loud enough, but its plenty good for me. And extra magnets can be added to the carrier if its too fast. Casting and line leveling a non level wind reel is best learned with heavier mono, and heavier weights until things fall into place.