Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Storm

Newbie wetsuit question?

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

Go try them on, every brand has a slightly different fit. I fit great in Xcel's and Hyperflexs. Probably need more information though. What are you using it for primarily? How cold is the water going to be? etc.

Planning on using them for striper fishing Spring-Fall, RI, Mass, CT, NY. Do you have more than one suit for different times of the year? I told you I was a newbie to this...lol

Thanks for the help.

I surf and shoot surfing photography from in the water. So to say I have a quiver of wetsuits is an understatement. Right now in NJ the water temps are still above 40 and I am in a hooded 5/4/3 with 5mm booties and 5mm gloves. When the water is in the 30's I reach for a 6/5/4 if the air temps are chilly and go with 7mm boots.

I can't say exactly what you'll need as I've only visited and surfed in RI in Aug/Sept during some hurricanes. I'm guessing a nice 4/3 would probably suffice depending how early in the spring you want to start.

Try on some suits,try one piece,or 2pieces.See how easy they are for you to get in and out of .And please remember to get one that fits snug.It's pointless to use a wetsuit that is baggy or loose been seeing that more and more.I also carry around some soap/water in a sprayer,every time your done you can clean it.

Keeping the funk off is a great plus.Also a good rubber matt or tote to store your wetsuit.And yes you need atleast 2suits or you will be too hot or cold.

Having scuba dived for over 20 years I can tell you a thing or two about wetsuits.....A cheap suit or a suit that doesn't fit your actual body size corectly will kill you. It will squeeze, exhaust, strangle and rub you raw. A generic suit off the rack won't fit most people.