Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
St.Croix Man

Your Tax return questions answered

Rate this topic

81 posts in this topic

I wanted to do this last year and was too busy.

I will answer all tax questions for the next couple of months.

If you don't hear back from me right away - don't panic.

Pm's accepted unless they get out of control.

Good Luck out there with your return

So you work in the field? CPA?

I am a tax accountant myself but I don't do any personal tax work. All large corporations, partnerships, and exempts.

Nice offer!

this is somewhat of a simple question. I am 27, and I have 5k to put-away. My company had a 401k that they closed, so now I have a ROTH IRA, and a standard IRA with E*Trade. No kids, no deductions, file simple, invest in one or both? If I contribute to the E*Trade IRA, I can write that off, however, is that in addition to the "standard" deduction we get, or would that be in place of?

Oh and thank you for this. My taxes are easy, and I have been doing them since I was 19, so I got a decent handle on it, but I know for some people are inundated by the complexity of their returns. This is an absolutely excellent and unreasonably generous thing you are doing. Thank you again.

i always pay a guy to do my taxes but last year he failed to amend a k1 i got late and i should have gotten about ~$100 more back. we were going to do it over the summer when he ("wasnt busy and had time" his exact words, real nice huh) and i forgot about it and he never called me or anything. can i carry that over to this year? i always get k1s after i already filed, they are really annoying.

needless to say im firing him and going to someone else this year.

Chief 2:

Young and single, I would recommend the Roth IRA if you feel you will be in a higher bracket upon retirement than you are now, Presently the highest bracket is 35%

You won't pay tax on the appreciation for the next 40+ years when you are retired.