Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tidewaterfly

Glue for lips?

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

OK, this is my first attempt with this type of lure. I bought a couple of these from an Ebay seller, and asked him about gluing the lip. He said super glue, but was'nt sure as he didn't build lures. This is a 10" Jake body, and my intention is to give it a try as a trolling lure for Striper's in the spring.

So, what type of glue would you folks recommend for attaching the lip to the body? Both are a plastic material and the lip comes unattached.

Thanks!

Devcon 2 ton 30 minute epoxy. The lip looks like it is in backwards. I would test it with that lip before you glue it in. Looks a little long for that angle. Also be aware that a plastic lip will break easily, especially in cold weather. Lexan would be a better option for the lip.

Jigman

Jig Man, thanks for the reply! I don't know what type of plastic that lip is made from, but I am familiar with using Devcon epoxy. I've used the 2 ton 60 or 90 minute quite a bit for making flies & gluing weed guards into bass jigs.

I have a piece of lexan, so may play with that too. I also thought the lip looked odd & appeared upside down.

Don't know about the lip length & angle. Some Jake type finished lures I've seen seemed like the lip length & angle was not right!

When you say test it, do you mean how it swims with the lip as it's shown? If so, I guess I should put hooks & split rings on it too, as that would certainly have an effect on it. Am I correct?

rig it as if you are going to fish it.put some tape on the lip in the area that is in the lurer body so it will be a snug fit. it looks unusual from what i can see of the lip but i don't think it will go in the other way.

Tidewater,

I love jakes and I agree with Jig Man, the lip is upside down in the pic, but from the pic it does look like the correct size. I also echo Jig Man on the glue, Devcon 2 ton 30 min epoxy will not break loose.

Good luck,

MS