Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hotfishgirl

a few questions about getting a boat

Rate this topic

61 posts in this topic

I really would like to have a small bay boat for fishing my favorite spot,duxbury bay.I started saving money last year and will have close to 5k by may.Is it possible to find a good reliable boat,engine,trailer for this?I am also thinking about skipping the trailer and keeping it down in duxbury or kingston and i know that can be a substantial cost as well.I have been in boats plenty of times.I know how to operate one.I know nothing about checking an engine to see if its a good one or not.I am far from a mechanic.My questions are

Is 5k enough or keep saving?

is anyone willing to help me find one so i don't buy a lemon?

does anyone have or know of a great deal on a boat?

I would be more then happy to take who ever helps me out on my boat from time to time or i could set you up with a nice aquarium for helping me.

Thanks for the help.

You can get what you're looking for with the $$ you have, just gotta do the leg work. Keep an eye on craigslist and look for a 15-17 ft center console or skiff. If you want the name of a good mechanic that will give you an honest opinion for a reasonable price shoot me a pm. That being said the more money you have the better.

Id be happy to help you out. 5k may get you a nice boat for in and around the bay. I have a great mechanic that can check out potential motors. Shoot me an email and ill get you my cell number so we can talk about you needs / wants.

Wow. You are two weeks too late. I just sold my skiff I used all around that bay two weeks ago. Boat, motor and trailer needed nothing and had to let it go for $3500. First time in many years I'm down to one boat. It's a buyers market.

I had twice the money saved and planned on buying brand new but after my fall on the rocks last year the dentist got half my money:mad: