Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Da Boss

Hello Everyone!!!

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

I just join and heard lots of good things about this website. I'm new to fishing, I have no experience at all in fishing. Hopefully you guys can teach me a thing or two. I'll will start to fish in NJ waters coming this spring. Hopefully I can find a fellow or a gal that can show me the ropes. 

So please, can someone recommend on what type of rod and reel I'm going to need for the surf coming this spring. I don't want to spend so much money since I'm a beginner, I don't know if I'am going to like it, but I want to give it a try anyway. 

Thanks guys. 

AL 

NJ or SJ ?

North Jersey, basic plug and bait beginner, figure 10' rod rated 1 to 5 oz lure weight, and a spinning reel.

Expect to pay more then $100, less then $200 for barely acceptable quality new stuff. $350 will get you a rod n reel you'll be happy with for years, less $ stuff probably not so much.

Avoid the WallyWorld Shakespeare rod/reel combo garbage.

Think Tsunami, Okuma, Tica, (chinese) Penn. Not the greatest of gear but sufficient to get started.

You'll also need waders, and if you're going to be fishing the rocks, Korkers (they'll keep you out of the emergency room), along with a tackle bag and some lures. Tackle bags and lures do NOT have to be expensive.

As soon as you have the posts and time in required to access it, put up a "want to buy" post in the Buy Sell Trade forum.

Better to get good stuff used then crap stuff new.

I just join and heard lots of good things about this website. I'm new to fishing, I have no experience at all in fishing. Hopefully you guys can teach me a thing or two. I'll will start to fish in NJ waters coming this spring. Hopefully I can find a fellow or a gal that can show me the ropes.