Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Stephen1

Kayaking in the Evergaldes

19 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I've been flyfishing in saltwater for 10 years and during that time I have never fished out of the Northeast. This April I am planning a trip to the Everglades. I have already booked a guide on his flats boat, but the other days I will be on my own. I want to do some fishing out of a kayak.I have done a lot of kayaking on the cape and elsewhere. I have read alot of stuff about going out with guides and DIY. I have limited funds so I would like to do one guided day and then a couple days of kayaking on my own. Yes, I know of the dangers associated with navigating the maze of channels. I would like some advice about guides and DIY. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Steve

The Everglades is very large.

If you're going to be there for a while, you can fish a bit of it...otherwise you need to be a little more specific.

You can rent kayaks all over the place. Though I've never done it, I have seen them way back in there.

To the East around Key Largo and South through The Keys, the water can get big...fast (actually true all over) Don't go out too far without a guide and/or a GPS, water, radio and survival gear. People have been known to go missing down there.

Flamingo is cool and may be what you're thinking of...truly an "Everglades experience". You drive way back in and boat around when you get there. There's a campground (get a reservation) and plenty of places to stop along the way in.

On The Keys side, contact Rich Tudor and Tom Rowland out of Duck Key.

On the Ten Thousand Islands side, contact Aron Blaisdel or Rob Walczak.

There are plenty of others, but I know these guys.

The bugs are big and plentiful enough to carry you away, especially at and after dark... come prepared.

This is an unbelievably beautiful and unique place ...

Have fun!