Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Master Debaiter

Where do i start ?

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Tying flies seems something i might enjoy...don't know where to start. Should i buy a book, DVD, tying station or what. Are there classes ? I mostly fish salt water so that would be my first attemp at a fly. Any advice would help...Thanks

P.S. How much should a newbie budget for a nice station and supplies?

Welcome to the wonderful world of fly-tying. Books and DVDs are a good place to start (I am self-taught and learned from books). But, everyone learns differently. It may be that you need to see the process, like in a DVD or YouTube video...or have someone demonstrate for you. Yes, there are classes (I teach). Check your local fly shop to see if they have them.

Saltwater is a great place for the beginning tyer. There are many simple, effective patterns that you can learn and catch on (like Ray's Fly, just to name one).

As a beginner, you don't need the world's fanciest, most expensive vise (I tie on a vise that I bought for under $15 back in the 70s). Stay away from kits, as they often give you stuff you don't need. You can probably find a good used vise at your local fly shop or online (search this forum for recommendations). You'll need some basic tools like a bobbin (it holds your thread), and scissors.

Taking Ray's Fly as an example, you'd need three different color bucktails, some body braid, some flash, some thread, some hooks, and some peacock herl. Depending on the source, you're talking 30-45 dollars. That could keep in you flies for a long time.

Hope this helps, and good luck! :-)

Steve

MD - There are several highly informative threads lingering in this forum that address this very question. One of the most detailed responses I have ever seen to this very question was from SOL'er Peregrines. Try a search using the advanced search function of this website and I know you will not be disappointed.