Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BrianBM

Proposition: at any price point under $200

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

all spinning reels of a given price point are pretty much the same in overall quality, and in overall utility on the surf scene.

It doesn't matter what the brand is. A $200 Shimano =$200 Penn = $200 Daiwa= $200 Godknowswhatelse.

You have to go into higher price brackets to see significant differences in overall functionality.

Let the winter (I'm not fishing, I want to but family and holiday is in the way, etc.) B.S. begin.

That's true to a certain extent. I have no experience with the new Daiwa Emblem Pro A, but the older version was capable of outcasting many reels in it's class for under the $200 mark. There are a few others that possess qualities that make them better for one reason or another. But in general I see what you're saying. There are a few stand outs though.

I think in the $200.00 range the Shimano's are tough to beat. IMO their gears are of higher quality, cold forged aluminum and a hardened brass pinion is impressive when compared to the gears in some others.

It can be found with the Spheros, Stradic, Saragosa etc...When you add aero wrap II in the case of the Stradic, and aerowave or regular aerowrap with the Gosa and Spheros depending on model , make them tough to beat.

Now, the Quantum's can stack up with them and they are very impressive also, but i like the overall refinement a little better on the Shimano's. Unfortunately they no longer come with a spare spool which made them an even bigger bargain.

all spinning reels of a given price point are pretty much the same in overall quality, and in overall utility on the surf scene.

It doesn't matter what the brand is. A $200 Shimano =$200 Penn = $200 Daiwa= $200 Godknowswhatelse.

You have to go into higher price brackets to see significant differences in overall functionality.