Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rhahn427

Any Spey Casters in Md/Del/Northern VA

Rate this topic

44 posts in this topic

I'm new to Spey Casting. A friend took me to a Spey Clave on the Clearwater in Idaho a couple of years ago and even arranged some private lessons with Mike Kinney. I was hooked but didn't have a Spey rod until I recently stumbled on to a TFO Lefty Kreh Professional 9 wt Spey rod and a couple of blanks to build some more. I was just wondering if there were some Spey Guys on this coast and what kind of fishing they do and if there are any claves here.

either ........... but I was wondering about Spey Fishing the surf ,,,,,,,,,

What rivers around here are big enough for spey casting ........... I can think of the Susky and the Delaware but I don't think of them as big fish waters except for the spring .......

Welcome! Spey casting is always useful when there is limited room behind. You can Spey cast 10Ft of 000wt line with 5Ft single hand rod up to 1400gr/100Ft belly line with 18Ft two hand rod.

Do a search here and you can find a lot of info of Spey in SW.

Oh no! Spey in the surf. Suggest you get it down pat in fresh water first. In my view Spey has limited use in salt water especially on a surf beach when a decent surf is running. Good for Inlets and esturary mouths. For surf think overhead. You may just want to try out a single hander rod first whilst you learn the ropes a bit. Play to your strengths.Surf is a whole lot different than your lake and river.

Mike

Oh no! Spey in the surf. Suggest you get it down pat in fresh water first. In my view Spey has limited use in salt water especially on a surf beach when a decent surf is running. Good for Inlets and esturary mouths. For surf think overhead. You may just want to try out a single hander rod first whilst you learn the ropes a bit. Play to your strengths.Surf is a whole lot different than your lake and river.

Mike