Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ExoticSeafood

Fishing the east river/Hudson river

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

I've never done this before and I'd like to catch some blues and stripers which have been around lately, I was thinking of going to Pier 6 in Brooklyn Bridge Park or around the FDR drive, anybody ever been to either of those places before? What other fish can be caught there? And is 20 lb mono alright to use?

Bass and blues will be anywhere there is bait and current. They don't have maps and don't avoid certain piers or streets :)

20# test is sufficient for almost anything you'll catch in there.

TimS

Bass and blues will be anywhere there is bait and current. They don't have maps and don't avoid certain piers or streets :)

TimS

Guess that is why fish detectors work so well. ;)

What about bait? I know bunker is the best but I hasn't been able to find that lately, I'm thinking of just bringing shrimp(I catch all kinds of fish on shrimp, I catch more blackfish with it then with crabs) and maybe some live eels and diamond jigs.

TimS

In total agreement with the above reply , But also try to use finesse swim lures. Such as , Storm shads , and B-tails w/pork or twister tails . Fan cast the structure or rip line . I know for a fact that there are plenty of fish there ... Good Luck

I used to catch TONS of fish at SpuytenDuyvil before 9/11 and the inability to get in to that area..... used storm shads with good results.