Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
NJTramcar

Bucktail tying/flying tying classes

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

I've read articles and watched videos but before I start tying, does anyone know of a class in Mercer County on tying bucktails and teasers? I think I'm ready, I'd just like to see it done live before I start. Sportsman's Center doesn't offer them anymore.

Honestly, the basics are so simple (which is all you need to make bucktails & teasers) that the videos you've seen should be enough to get you started. That being said, the Atlantic Saltwater Flyrodders used to hold "fly tying nights" where members got together and tied flies, share techniques, shot the breeze, etc. I haven't been a member in that club for a couple of years, but I thought those were the best nights. (Come to think of it, I should re-join.)

Some other fly fishing clubs might offer the same type of thing, or someone here could probably show you a thing or two. I am no expert, but if you are going to be down the the northern ocean county area, I can show you how to put bucktail and feathers on a hook, etc.

If you chill untill after the holidays, I would be glad to do some tying with you...

Right now its fishing, work and the holidays will be here before you know it. Take a drive down to my house some day. in January. Ill make some coffee and we will do some tying....flys, bucktails..whatever

Frank that sounds like a deal, thank you! Just being able to ask about material and your experience is going to be great, bring on January!

I think I can handle most of it. The tying the knot at the end with the tool looks like it might be tricky the first few times.

You don't use a whipping tool to tie off the thread on a bucktail. Do it the same way you finish a wrap on a rod using a loop.

I have to tie up a handful myself, figured I'd do it while watching Monday night football. You're welcome to stop by. (I'm in Manalapan)

Its all good man...Glad to help....