First striper; To eat or not to eat?

Rate this topic

ceestand

That is the question.

I'm brand new to fishing, haven't caught one striper yet. That leaves me in the silver-lined position to ask your opinions on this: When I do land my first keeper, what's the right thing to do by the fish? I'm all for catch-and-release in general, but I do intend to eat my share of fish. Should my first striped bass be reminisced as not only a great sport, but great eating, or should it be released as thanks for taking my cherry?

As long as it's of legal size, do which ever you please - that's your legal right. And as far as my own personal view is concerned, as long as you're not keeping it to parade it around, then disgarding/wasting it, it's all good...enjoy the fruits of your success (but that doesn't mean not to take pictures...LOL)

For my first keeper, I took a quick photo, then kissed it on the head and released it. This is supposed to bring good luck. I continue to do this with each first keeper of the season.

The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable, a perpetual series of occasions for hope. ~John Buchan

For the first time i have started to trim out the red meat...and not a hack job i mean carefully trim it all out so it looks nice and appetizing. I am enjoying eating them again this way. I mean i like to eat that red meat but i think it was starting to get to me.

Why was your night time pee glowing? ;)

It is clearly your choice... but i personally let my first keeper go, after i thanked it for being nice enough to bite onto my 14" deep diving plug i cast from the rocks as a googan...

Ever since then, I've done very well each year with the blessings of the fish gods, with a couple 40's each year and have had the honor of catching a 50 and 60 class bass. It's good to toss some coins in the karma well every now and again.:th:

GOOD LUCK