Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
g2h

What's the difference between a 704 and a 704z?

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Other than the obvious color change? What are the differences? Were both of these available at the same time or did the black one replace the greenie? What's the black one have that the green one doesn't?

The 704 was the greenie, replaced by the black and gold 704z...Everything in them is interchangable..Pretty much a matter of which one you like...

The only difference to even talk about is that since the mid-90s, until they were discontinued, the Zs had a stronger, machined spool. The greenies and the early Zs had a cast spool.

The machined spools are all gold and like every other part on a Z, they'll fit a greenie.

View Post704z looks alot nicer and stronger. Its like an old fashion looking Penn SSm spinning reel

I'm no reel expert but besides the z's spool how's the z stronger than the greenie? I have both if anything I'd say the greenie is stronger all greenies come with a metal sideplate most z's didn't with the exception of the earlier ones. But other than that the housing, the rotorcup (with the exception of the indentation on the z's cup) and all the and internal parts are identical.

View PostThe greenies and the early Zs had a cast spool.

In addition to what Ditch says, I believe all of the early Zs with the cast spool were black spools rather than the anodized aluminum.

View PostIn addition to what Ditch says, I believe all of the early Zs with the cast spool were black spools rather than the anodized aluminum.

Well, considering that the spool on my first green 704 has almost no paint left on it (from grinding sand out of the cup), and hasn't yet shown a speck of corrosion, if they weren't anodized, Penn used some other very effective means of corrosion-proofing on them wink.gif