Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
demonfish

Riverhead beaches closed to 4x4

10 posts in this topic

Thanks to the state parks on the east end and the millionaires on the west end, you can no longer bring your truck on the beach. Call NY state rep. Marc Alessi and tell him to get the parks to change the rules. This is vacant parklnd which has no plans on being developed for years to come. Horse people have pushed and got permission to rie their horses on the property and the beaches. Time for us to push. Marc Alessi is up for elecion this year.mad.gif

I am new to the Beach Buggy thing and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for a nice area to fish with the kids. My kids do not go crazy and are very respectful. I have a 99 Yukon and the Empire Pass and The 4x4 Permit. I know its busy right now at the height of Striper season. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Now Riverhead will have "no trespassing" signs on both ends of its L.I. Sound beaches.

The state parks department has just issued a master plan for the Hallock State Park Preserve, which takes in Riverhead's easternmost stretch of Sound beach, that bans vehicles from driving on the beach.

Analysts for the state office of parks, recreation and historic preservation dismissed the request of local surf fishermen for continued motor vehicle access to about a mile of shoreline fronting the former KeySpan property, acquired by the state in 2002.

While the Riverhead Town allows vehicles on its beaches by permits issued under Chapter 48 of the town code, "[t]his code does not apply to State Parkland," the state agency's master plan states. "Under the public trust doctrine, residents are still allowed to access the beach at Hallock State Park Preserve from the adjacent Riverhead beach, but they may not do so with a motor vehicle or other motorized craft (beach buggy, ATV, etc.)."