2 or 4 piece?

Rate this topic

Jason B

I'm new to this salt water fly fishing game and I'm looking to pick up a new 9 wt. rod but don't know if I should get a 2 or 4 piece. Bottom line, I want a 4 but.....

The other day at the casting ponds, I was casting a 10wt. 2 piece in my preparation for my first year on salt. I began to wonder with the heavier lines, heavier loading, big flies, 110+ feet casts and constant casting in pounding surf, the 4 piece might be more of liability rather than it's obvious convience. With my trout rods, the four piece was great, but casting a size 20 adams on a 4 wt. for 60 less feet is, for lack of better words, pleasant and relaxing. Salt looks anything but relaxing on the fisherman or gear.

To cut to the long chase; Salt being heavier and harder on so many levels, do the multiple ferrules become more pronounced, leading to dead spots and possibly more seperations? (For stripers and blues on surf)

Thanks for the Wisdom

Jason

"It's the weekend, I don't know you, you don't exist to me." The Hangover

Jason B,

Welcome aboard! Having just recently replaced my 2 piece 9wt with a 3 piece 10wt, I can understand your concerns. However, after many casts practicing in the backyard and 3 trips under the belt so far this year (albeit fishless trips) I can say that any and all worries I had about going up to a 3 piece rod have been relieved! I highly suggest going to a 3 piece rod. It is so much more convienent to carry around and the performance has not been compromised.

JimK

PS. the reason I got a new rod is that my 2 piece rod was broken while being casted! eek.gif

"Russian War Ship.. go f*#k yourself"

I only buy 4 piece rods and the only times that they break is due to my own carelessness. Two actually went down on a very rough day when they were stepped on, the third broke when I hauled back on a snag.