Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
vmw

Shimano Spheros 4000

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

As a beginner, I'm trying to learn spinning casting bait from a pier to catch some croakers or spots. Is Shimano Spheros 4000 good enough to do the job?

Also, want to ask is it too small to try for blue fish?

Thanks.

i could do that with 6 pound test hand line!

seriously that reel is more than enough

it should be ok even if a striper or bluefish decides to eat ur croaker or spot

Chesapeake Bay summertime pier fishing? Yes that's a good choice in my opinion.

A 4000 size shimano (or similar size from another brand) is a ideal size reel for a wide variety of applications and can cover most of your bases if you are fishing primarily in the bay. If you plan on expanding to surf fishing in the ocean it will be undersized for some of those applications.

View Posti could do that with 6 pound test hand line!

seriously that reel is more than enough

it should be ok even if a striper or bluefish decides to eat ur croaker or spot

Thanks for your answer. Is a 6'6" or 7' rod good for croaker and blue? Or should I try bigger one like 9' or 10'? Someone told me I should at least have a 9' for blue.

View PostChesapeake Bay summertime pier fishing? Yes that's a good choice in my opinion.

A 4000 size shimano (or similar size from another brand) is a ideal size reel for a wide variety of applications and can cover most of your bases if you are fishing primarily in the bay. If you plan on expanding to surf fishing in the ocean it will be undersized for some of those applications.

Yes. I will try pier or bridge first to have some sense on fishing. Species will be croaker, blue or maybe fluke/flounder (not sure if I'll be able to catch it). I once went to Delaware seashore and found people got tautog under a bridge with many rocks. Can I also try that with this shimano reel?