Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bubba3085

New to Surf Fishing: Couple Questions

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

I'm new to surf fishing and am getting skunked every time I go out. Even after reading a lot of great information off of this website. I know that theres not one sure method to catching fish every time so I am just trying to get pointers on what I am doing wrong.

I have been fishing off Manalokin Beach. I read online about reading beaches and such; looking for the slough. I feel as though I haven't been able to read the beaches right as I have been going at high tide and the waves aren't breaking on the sandbar; more or less just crashing right onto the beach. How far do I need to be casting out? Any other pointers on picking a spot on the beach?

Also; after about a half dozen knot failures... what is a good knot for braided line to a mono shock leader? What would be a good knot to tie the swivel at the end of the shock leader to the rig?

I'd like to take my fiancé out fishing but at this point its not much fun; although the worst outcome is sitting on a nice beach with a warm sun on your back... Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Bryan

View PostTake your fiance, cast her out with a chunk of bunker on her line and she will outfish you all day. At least that always works for my wife.

yeah or someone who has never fished beforeheadscratch.gif

Keep at it, and use fresh bait. (never frozen) for bunker, they eyes should not be glassy and gills should still be red. Clams should be in shell and tighten up when you touch their lips. They should have some wheight (still holding water) You can even purge them once you buy them, Drop them in some saltwater (use a mesh bag) for about 10 or 20 minutes

knots that i use most are the Uni knot, good for braid, and mono. ive never had a knot failure (6 turns) Also good for uni to braid, does have a tag so it is not good to go through guides.

dropper loop, great for high low rigs and teaser rigs.