Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
snoryder

Permit Question

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

I am a non resident and for me to fish salt water I need to buy a marine license, no probs there. If I want to fish the gateway national park or any other park, say the Jones beach area, sorry don't know the name, I need to buy a fishing permit? Is that correct?

For ex, I want to fish the bridge at cross bay blvd or marine pkwy drive or jacob riis. Do I need a permit?

10 bucks for a 7 day non resident salt water license plus 50 bucks for the gateway permit.

Is it worth it this time of the year?

Thanks

View PostI am a non resident and for me to fish salt water I need to buy a marine license, no probs there. If I want to fish the gateway national park or any other park, say the Jones beach area, sorry don't know the name, I need to buy a fishing permit? Is that correct?

For ex, I want to fish the bridge at cross bay blvd or marine pkwy drive or jacob riis. Do I need a permit?

10 bucks for a 7 day non resident salt water license plus 50 bucks for the gateway permit.

Is it worth it this time of the year?

Thanks

Gateway is a federal national park and Jones beach is a state park. Two different permit requirements.

As far as Gateway, permits only needed for parking in designated spots, you can avoid those spots and still get to the fishing areas with ease. Save your money on the permit. You can no longer fish off the marine parkway bridge. To fish cross bay bridge @ cross bay just park in one of the two parking lots on the south side of the bridge and walk up no permit needed. If you want to fish riis park. Park in the main lot $5, I believe, leave nothing valuable visible and walk to the beach, you can only fish there after the lifeguards leave.

If your coming wait till beginning of September. Pickings off the shore have been very slim.

PM me when your coming and I will help you get to the spots you want to fish in Gateway.

J