Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lancer1

Newbie here with question

Rate this topic

6 posts in this topic

Hello and good day,

I was on the net looking for an answer for fishing rod and found this awesome site and browsed at the threads and I know I am in the right site and company where I will learn a lot so I joined. I am on the entry level to surf fishing and gathering things, so I'm on the level of reading and gathering info's here. I apologize if my first post contains questions.

I saw this rod displayed on sale bin of a local tackle store

Penn Spin Fisher Big Game Surf SBG 6811 H 11' 2 pcs 15-30 lbs 2-8oz lure selling for $30.

??All I read on the forum are Medium- Medium Heavy powered. Any thread about 11' heavy power? What fishing situation or lure/bait is heavy power rod suited for?

Reel I bought last week from a garage sale is a well used, scarredbiggrin.gif 704z with bail less conversion and spare spool for $25. Previous owner included the orig bail part just in case I don't get used to bail less. I also bought the rod that goes with it but it's on his vacation house in Florida. He said it's 2 pc. old (? year he bought it) lamiglas 9 or 91/2 ft yellow rod with blue handle. Dont know model #. It's already a done deal. Paid him $40 shipping incl and his daughter shipped it to me, coming early next week.

Thank you

Thank you sirs... Saved me money hahaha... I don't know the power of that yellow rod yet. I bought it because the old man said it's perfect for that reel. I don't know what he means until probably when I attach that reel on that rod and use itbiggrin.gif

BTW is there a thread explaining or discussing the difference bet MH and H, advantage/disadvantage of each one if they're both of same length.