Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
xenaki0001

Newbie here who needs some help

14 posts in this topic

Me and a couple friends just decided to get back into fishing a few weeks ago. None of us have any real experience and my one friends is fishing for the first time in his life.

I'm leading the pack here with my 1 catch, a massive 5 inch long sunfish.

We are stuck fishing from shore for now. Mainly the mohawk river with a few small lakes strewn in there. We are fishing for whatever we can catch right now basically haha.

Our equipment sucks. We all have different $20 walmart rod/reel specials.

Mine is a Shakespeare Cirrus spinning combo, no idea what the others have(Mine's actually not so bad, but I want to be able to cast farther).

Any suggestions on a good rod, reel and line on the cheap and where to buy it? I would ideally like to be in the $50-100 range but could be persuaded to spend more if it was really worth it.

Second would be what tackle to purchase. I'd like to keep my total budget under $200-300 right now since I'm also looking at buying a lightweight canoe.

Any other advice/links to good reading material would be greatly appreciated!

A better rod and reel MAY help you cast further but not ,likely by a whole lot. Put some light (6#?) line on the rod and practice casting. Small spinnerbaits, rapalas, and rubber baits like worms, sluggo's etc is all you need to get started into bigger fish .