Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
fishing

Pouring Plastics

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Anyone on here pour their own plastics?? Im just starting to look into it and wondering if its worth the costs and time????? I would probably only do 4-6 molds for freshwater worms.. senkos etc.

I was lucky enough to talk to someone who does this themselves and they explained in detail the process. After looking into doing it on my own it does save you a nice chunk of change, especially if you have a lot of old plastics lying around that you dont use anymore. I have been meaning to get started just have not had the time.

I've been doing it for about 2 years now (saltwater baits). I helped several other get involved too.

There nothing to it. Not only do you save a lot of $$$, but being able to color and design your own baits improves your fishing immeasurably.

It a very addicitive hobby.

Agree with Bob G, a good hobby. Messed around with them on and off for several years and just got back into it. Been doing a number of soft plastics this year for freshwater. Even made a mold or two. Google Lurecraft. They have all the stuff you need. Initial investment is pretty small (couple of molds, plastisol, coloring, pouring pans, small stove). I recommend doing it outside as it can get smelly. You'll find some additional info in the lure forum here on making baits and molds.

Jigman

Where do you guys get your plastic from? I know that Husky has mentioned plastisol in the past, but I don't know where do buy it. Otherwise, I guess Janns is the best place to go? headscratch.gif

Also, another question specifically for those pouring 9" sluggos... Approximately how many baits would I get out of a gallon of plastic from Janns?

I havent figured the numbers accurately because I mix a lot of the used pieces (and I havent really paid attention) with the new formula, but I would guess it would be around 80 9" ers.