Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Darth Baiter

Yakima ShowBoat loading system

10 posts in this topic

Opinions? I did a search and didn't find much. I'm looking for more than the current dead lift to the top of a Sequoia by myself and a Hullavator is not in the cards. On-line price of $136, shipped with support bars, is within my budget. Looks like it will work and make rear loading easier than the current side load. Comments?

that looks like it would work. I'm still dead lifting. Although for my local trips (less than 30 miles typically) I have a bed extender I put in the trailer hitch receiver and strap onto that. It works pretty well with the back seats folded down in the Trailblazer. Next year I'm thinking of getting a trailer if I can find an inexpensive one.

It looks pretty cool, but I'd be concerned with someone spinning off the nuts and making off with the Showboat.

I've been using the cheater bar (Yakima Boat Loader) for a few years now. It works great once you get used to it. I lay a piece of indoor/outdoor carpet on the top edge and side of the car. If the boat slides on the loader and contacts the car, the carpet is in the way and it won't scratch the car.

View PostIt looks pretty cool, but I'd be concerned with someone spinning off the nuts and making off with the Showboat.

I've been using the cheater bar (Yakima Boat Loader) for a few years now. It works great once you get used to it. I lay a piece of indoor/outdoor carpet on the top edge and side of the car. If the boat slides on the loader and contacts the car, the carpet is in the way and it won't scratch the car.

I plan on removing the roller section of the ShowBoat, if I go this route, and storing in the vehicle when not in use.

I found the Boat Loader/cheater bar after sourcing this and printed out the instructions. I have a factory rack but that doesn't preclude me from making my own cheater bar now that I understand the functional concept.