Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JEA508

Assateague Fly Fishing

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

Hello everyone. This is my first post on these forums and I have a few questions for anyone with some answers! smile.gif

First off my name is Justin and I have been coming down to Assateague Island State Park for the lat 6 years. My wife has been coming with her family for over 18+years!

I usualy do a lot of surf fishing and I go to the rt 50 bridge in OC to do some fishing there too. What I am more interested is fly fishing in the area. I am an avid trout fisherman and have tied flies for many years. What my question is for you all is: Where do I go to catch some fish on my fly rod? I would prefer to catch fish that I am not used to like saltwater fish or some brackish waters. I wouldn't mind any suggestions tho for some fresh water trout fishing. What kind of flies are used? Since I have a trout outfit I would assume fishing on the surf would just not work. I would love to fish some of the bay areas right by Assateague you know like where everyone searches for clams. I have used a throw net in that area and got some pretty cool things. I honestly dont mind if they are LARGE fish. Anyone have any techniques or some pointers? I dont mind traveling up to about 30-45 min away from the state park for some good fishing either. I will continue my search on GOOGLE but if anyone has any insight, drop me a line here! Thanks everyone in advance, I think im going to enjoy these forums!

Stinky Beach is a good spot to give the fly a shot. We fish therfe when we come down that way. It is right across from the 50 bridge. It5 has a long name but most know it as Stinky Beach. You can wade it but be careful, a deep drop off is near the shore. IO fish it with a sinking line and clousers and decievers. Had shad and small stripers there this year. It can be tuff to park if many people are there. I have walked down to the opening to the marina and fished there also.

Rick