Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BassMe

Reel for St Croix Avid Surf 10' Rod?

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

I currently have this rod with a shimano baitrunner 4500B but am looking for a reel thats better for casting plugs, assortment of crankbaits, poppers, pencils, etc... nothing massive. any color is appreciated. want to try and stay around $150 and new. do you think that rod even works with a reel meant for anything other than chunking or live lining? looking through old posts as well to see what i can turn up.

thanks as always

What is the lure weight range on the rod?

What is the Baitrunner not doing that you'd like another reel to do? I frequently plug with a BTR - its a very versatile reel and I can't think of anything you're going to get out of any other reel in the same price range that's going to make it a significantly better reel for throwing lures.

let me preface by saying im new to the fishing community as of a couple years ago but am only recently (last summer) "diving in" and trying to understand all the gear combos, baits and importance of tides and wind, etc. lure range is 3/4 - 4 oz. so sounds like ur suggestion is to sit tight rather than blow the money on something thats basically going to get me to the same place with my current set up.

View Postlet me preface by saying im new to the fishing community as of a couple years ago but am only recently (last summer) "diving in" and trying to understand all the gear combos, baits and importance of tides and wind, etc. lure range is 3/4 - 4 oz. so sounds like ur suggestion is to sit tight rather than blow the money on something thats basically going to get me to the same place with my current set up.