Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mokes

A thicker Pencil....

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

I wanted to make my Pencils a little thicker for added bouyancy and weight so I tried this out today. I have 2 that are almost exact. ALMOST. I used calipers to try and get some consistency.

This is 7.5 inches long. You think the fatness of the Pencil will kill the action? Personally I do not, but I'm a rookie.

I have made similar ones and they walk good, but not as thick..... bit slimmer. Hate to give clunkers to the raffle. These are definetly meaty Pencils....I'm putting an ounce of lead in the ass.

Let me know if you think anything is wrong here. If you guys wouldn't fish it say so.

Prime it and take it for a test swim.... let the fish be the judgesmile.gif.... If you dont mind me asking, why have you changed the body from the last batch you did??? Are you trying to improve something or is this a specialty plug for a spot you havewink.gif...

View PostPrime it and take it for a test swim.... let the fish be the judgesmile.gif.... If you dont mind me asking, why have you changed the body from the last batch you did??? Are you trying to improve something or is this a specialty plug for a spot you havewink.gif...

Can't test it, lol. The last time I fished my Pencils, I wished they had a bit more wood to them to lift them a bit higher with that ounce of lead in them.

This is the result. The Canal moves so fast at times, that it seems to drag a pencil under here and there.

Honestly....my feelings on a Pencil is that when breaking fish are there.....any Pencil will work. These guys seems to walk side to side pretty easy too.

I'm sure these will fish fine and I think the fatter wood will resemble a fish more, but that's me over-thinking things. I know it's the splashing that makes the fish react.

The honest to god best Pencils come from lighter wood, but that wood is also MUCH more fragile I am seeing. This AYC is way tougher.