Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
HASH

Marlin Disqualified for Mate not having license

Rate this topic

42 posts in this topic

The talk of the Carolinas. Big Rock Marlin Tournament winning fish (883 lbs) was DQed because mate did not have fishing license. They were ready to win over $900,000 .

 

 

The Big Rock Blue Marlin Tournament Board of Directors has unanimously determined that they have no choice but to disqualify the 883-pound blue marlin caught on June 14, 2010.

 

It cost the crew of the boat Citation a cash prize of $912,000.

 

After interviewing members of the crew of the fishing vessel "Citation," review of the Big Rock Blue Marlin Tournament rules, consulting the division of Marine Fisheries as well as the North Carolina Attorney General's office, the Board agreed there had been a violation of tournament rules but the violation did not involve "dishonesty" or "cheating" on the part of the owners or angler of the "Citation."

 

The rule violation involves the "mate" not having a Coastal Recreational Fishing License, which is required by North Carolina law and by the Tournament. Participants and crew were reminded of the license requirement at the Captains meeting prior to the Tournament. The mate engaged in fishing activities without a valid license and later obtained a license at 5:51 pm while heading to the weigh station. The fish was boated at 3:16 pm.

 

"It is an unfortunate situation for the crew of 'Citation' as well as the Tournament itself but for the integrity of the Tournament, Big Rock had no choice but to enforce the rules and disqualify the fish," the Board said in a press release Tuesday.

 

Because of this disqualification, The Big Rock Board of Directors declare Carnivore the winner with their 528.3-pound blue marlin and in second place, Wet-N-Wild with a 460-pound blue marlin.

 

Carnivore's win earns the crew a payout of $999,453. Wet-N-Wild pockets $275,322.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was this million dollar Marlin tourney a bunch of years ago down in Cabo where a team Disqualified themself because a Deck hand accidently touched the rod or line on accident while they were reeling in the Winner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At first I felt bad for the mate, but after reading that he got a license on the way to the weigh station, i don't. It gives the impression that he knew the rules and ignored them. When you break the rules you pay the price.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow!! Why in the hell would he not have a license?? The article states that they were reminded of the rule prior to the tourney. kooky.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm in SC right now, and we just had this conversation at dinner. One of my coworkers fished that tourny. The captain on his boat collected the fishing licenses from EVERYONE on board, including his mate!! Obviously the mate knew the rules, but ultimately its the captain's responsibility to check and recheck that all of the documentation (permits, tournament paperwork, and licenses) are in order before departing. Shame on both of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
View PostShame on both of them.

 

I agree with this. Mate should have had a license and the captain should have made sure he did before he left port. Bet you they dont make that mistake again lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ultimately it's the captain's responsibility.

 

It was also likely the captain who told the mate to go get a license once they had that fish. Captain takes all the blame here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to register here in order to participate.

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.