Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
daverojo77

Fly reel & Line after a day in the salt

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

I take really good care of my tackle and I think it's why I still have reels that are over 20 years old.

Fly reel I'm new to and especially fly line what do you guys do after a day in the salt?

Right now I'm running them through fresh water then some mild really mild soapy water then rinse with fresh water again. What do you guys do to the line any sprays or treatments you recommend?

I wash the rods and reels and then strip off the line right down to the backing. I spray the line(piled on grass) and then pull it through a cloth. Reels in there case and the rods also. It can be a pain to do espeically when you fish from 3 AM to 8 and then have to go to work. BUT I make it a priority to keep my gear clean. Funny thing is I keep my boat and fly gear spotless but my truck and everything else is..... Well not quite spotless, lol. As far as dressing goes I use a spray. Not sure what it's called but cabelas carries it. It comes in a aerosal bottle and I spray the line right on the reel. Line shoots so good it practically slips out of my fingers!

Hi Daverojo77,

What your doing is perfect right now! I dress my lines with 3M Scientific Anglers Fly Line Dressing or Airflo Whizz Lube after rinsing them in fresh water or washing them in a mild soap. Flymann pretty much described what all of us do after hitting the salt with a fly; rinse down your rods and reels with freshwater and put them back in their cases after they dry.

Have fun in the fly fishing game amigo!

Dilan

View Postalmost nothing--a good rinse with a hose and a good cleaning once a year