Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
stryperStalker

building MOJO

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Of all the things that I've learned about building plugs, the one thing I never thought twice about was MOJO. I bring at least one of my plugs out with me on every trip. They swim just like they should. They look just like the plugs that I catch fish on. But yet I can't get the fish to hit them.

Whenever I get a fish on a "commercial" plug, I think to myself "if I had only thrown one of my own plugs, I would have caught this fish on it."

Is my wood cursed? Can the fish tell that I'm a noob and they don't like my tail wraps?

I cover them with bunker scent, I use every retrieval speed and technique in the book. What more can I do?!?!

Shooting from the hip here, Stryper: you might bring twenty of your own plugs out with you and leave all the commercials at home. Don't the fish the pleasure of choice. Are you using sharp VMC hooks?

View PostShooting from the hip here, Stryper: you might bring twenty of your own plugs out with you and leave all the commercials at home. Don't the fish the pleasure of choice. Are you using sharp VMC hooks?

Hooks are brand new. It's not that I'm dropping fish. They simply aren't hitting my lures.

There are times where I strike out when using the commercial plugs, so it's just as much an issue of the fish not being there. But I'm starting to get a bit frustrated.

I'm right there with you Stryper Stalker, I haven't got a hit yet on my lures or anyone else's this year so far. The only time I have been able to get a hit is when I fish clams, but I'd much rather be plugging. The way I look at it, our time is coming, maybe tomorrow morning.

View PostShooting from the hip here, Stryper: you might bring twenty of your own plugs out with you and leave all the commercials at home. Don't the fish the pleasure of choice. Are you using sharp VMC hooks?

Hi Stryper Stalker,