Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
iraevski

Tying Plugs to Braid. pls help

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

hey guys

i am kinda new to plugging, just fished bait for the most part last season.

I am using a Penn 750 ssm with a 10' stick spooled with FireLine Original Braid, 30IB.

the question is, should i use a mono or flourocrabon leader or just tie the plug directly to the braid? also do you use some kind of snap swivel or just tie directly to the plug? i am planning to use Danny surface swimmers 3.5 oz and a Bomber long A for the most part

any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks.

Being new I would tie a barrel swivel to your braid & attatch a Mono leader to that. Long enough that if you catch a fish you have something to grab on to. Braid will cut your hands up pretty good. On the end of your Mono tie on a clip to attatch your plug to.

View PostBeing new I would tie a barrel swivel to your braid & attatch a Mono leader to that. Long enough that if you catch a fish you have something to grab on to. Braid will cut your hands up pretty good. On the end of your Mono tie on a clip to attatch your plug to.

yeah i heard that braid can really cut you. usually i dont grab the line though when i land a fish. i just use the net or have a friend grab the fish for me.

i was just wondering if using mono would cut down on the chance that the fish will see the line. braid is probably more visible in the water

View PostBeing new I would tie a barrel swivel to your braid & attatch a Mono leader to that. Long enough that if you catch a fish you have something to grab on to. Braid will cut your hands up pretty good. On the end of your Mono tie on a clip to attatch your plug to.

That's the way you should do it.