Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
AfishinMick

Cutting Penn Spools

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

Can anyone point me to a thread about cutting spools. Looking at customizing some Penns. I've read all the threads on drilling and painting but might want to try some v-stall like slots. Don't know if anyone is doing them at home.

Thanks,

Pete

NYNistler

couple of things

What are you cutting with?

How do you set up (clamp) to cut?

How do you lay out the pattern so it is consistant around the reel?

Do you use a jig to make the cuts?

Anything other tips that might be helpful..

Actually I stopped by a machine shop today to see what they could do but the boss was out. Would rather do it myself in my pole barn but I have no experience with this type of work.

Grateful for the reply and any help you can give me.

Pete

Pete - do you have access to a drill press? Doesn't have to be fancy, but one with a table that swivels at the main arm is helpful. I'll try to get pics of what I did and how I did it. It was as easy as a drill press, two c-clamps, scrap wood, bolt, washer, nut, and a cheap carbide endmill bit from EBay. Even the measuring was easy.

I've actually been looking into buying a small drill press. For what it would cost to do some of these I can get one. I'll have to look into the mill bit some. But was thinking the drill press is the thing for the holes anyway. Trying to get the whole thing figured out before I start and screw it up. Any more pic's would be great. Your rotor and spool are looking great. By the way I bought a small used roaster with temp control for $20 yesterday to bake the paint. Just the right size for 2-3 reels.

for just holes you can use a hand drill and a vise. you can get away without the vise, but it helps.

slots can be cut with a dremel.

put some masking tape around the cup to figure out the layout. use a centerpunch then drill, start with small holes and work your way up to the final size.