Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Didzis

Dock in fresh water - private property?

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

Does anyone happen to know if you own real estate in Massachusetts up to the shoreline of a freshwater pond and install a floating dock about 15 feet out in front of your parcel, whether the dock is considered your private property? Do swimmers/fishermen/others have a legal right to use it, since it is in the water?

My guess is that if you put it out there, you have to deal with the consequences of others wanting to get on it from time to time, but I'm curious if anyone knows the law or has his/her own thoughts on this?

Thanks,

Didzis

My understanding -- and I'm not a lawyer, but am a waterfront property owner and reformed user of other people's floats when waterskiing -- of how this works is that the floating dock is your property from a liability standpoint but is fair game for others to use -- though if you're home and on your waterfront, you could certainly shoo them away.

View PostMy understanding -- and I'm not a lawyer, but am a waterfront property owner and reformed user of other people's floats when waterskiing -- of how this works is that the floating dock is your property from a liability standpoint but is fair game for others to use -- though if you're home and on your waterfront, you could certainly shoo them away.

how can you shoo them away if they can access the doc?? Great topic and I would be interested in the answer as well.

Think of it as a moored boat, a car in a public parking lot or a motor cycle parked on the main street, they are all on public property but they are still privately owned and off limits to any and everyone without the owners permission!!!!!!

View PostThink of it as a moored boat, a car in a public parking lot or a motor cycle parked on the main street, they are all on public property but they are still privately owned and off limits to any and everyone without the owners permission!!!!!!